Lonesome Pundit

Bettting, DFS, Football, NFL – bit of randomness

Thank heavens for August

Leave a comment

Apologies firstly for being somewhat lax over the weekend in regard to blog updates. I’ve had a few issues to attend with and really haven’t been overly interested in the racing, there were no system bets on Saturday and although there may have been Sunday and Monday I can only apologise for anyone following them as I didn’t endeavour to find out. As previous I’m going to try and attempt to find some actual winners of my own in the next month but July has been desperate really and following others namely Bet Buddy and Formbet is proving far more profitable.

In addition to more personal bets I will be looking at the football this coming week so do look out for that with some punts at promotion, relegation, top scorers and what not, the racing as it goes is pretty sub standard now until York. Next week’s Shergar Cup meeting for instance is one where I’ll be giving it a majorly wide berth. I’ve also put the blog up onto Kindle Blogs mainly as a test for a few other things in the pipeline and to experiment but if you did want to read the blog on a kindle then you will be able to, I’ve not actually got a kindle but if you search for Lonesome Pundit it should appear. I’ll explain more about that in the coming days – when I’ve got my head around it.

Stats wise, I have updated the personal bets and the recent system bets. Firstly the system bets returned a 4pt loss in July. It was looking worse until the end of the month where by a few winners went in to reduce the deficit. A disappointing month therefore but you do have to remember I’m tracking these bets to an Industry SP – they can definitely be improved by using Betfair SP which I’ll start tracking to in August or by taking an early price with a B.O.G bookmaker. The overall profit on the system bets since March is +74.79pts from 85 bets for a ROI of 87%. The strike rate was nearly 30% in July so I’m happy with how things are going. You can view the results above, if you’d like a copy of all selections since March leave me a comment or send an email and I’ll send them on.

Personal bets have been much more disappointing. July has been well a complete washout I’ve put up 16 selections, staking a total of 21.5pts – the total return has been zero, zilch, nada, nothing! Desperate stuff really there have been a few close shaves but things haven’t been going well. The results from July have ensured the overall personal selections have taken something of a beating, although worth noting even with a brutal July the profit is +35.875pts from 114 selections. I’m hoping we see an upturn in August though that’s for sure. One winner from June and July really is abysmal tipping! The stats have been updated. Again you can get a copy of all selections if you so wish. Amusingly a few actually won the race after I selected them, typically.

System Bets – 

  • 2.15 Bath – Elfine – R Guest (5) (26%)
  • 3.00 Catterick – Galpin Junior – Mrs R Carr (5) (12%)
  • 7.40 Ffos Las – Cape Classic – W Haggas (4) (44%)
Leave a Reply

