Lonesome Pundit

Bettting, DFS, Football, NFL – bit of randomness

Softly does it ..

2 Comments

Very quiet today for the systems, a few interesting things to take from yesterday’s selections. There were 17 of them and 3 managed to come home first for a 17% strike rate not great but an awful lot better than it has been, worth noting additionally that the each way side of things struggled with only one more horse being placed. Obviously there were no optimum bets so it’s speculative but it does look like it’s best to stick with a 1pt win on them. The overall p & l on the test systems yesterday were -2.15pts on Win and -6.49 on each way. Paper testing continues alas, although it may be consigned to the recycle bin soon .. Cockney Trucker was fourth sums up my recent luck. Not much hope for my ante post bet on Strong Suit neither after a dismal showing, I’ll be keeping a close eye on Richard Hannon’s website in the coming days to see if anything comes to light or just that he ran abysmally. I’m hoping he’ll still turn up at Newmarket but 20/1 now looks like a ridiculous price. Way it goes alas.

Few other things I want to touch on. Firstly considering going back to Formbet and the monthly subs. I was with the service fully from July to January and I feel the flat is where Dave excels best so it’s probably worth getting involved again. Need to sort a few financial issues out first so it won’t be this week. It helps when Dave posts on Facebook about Dubawi Sound being overpriced and then the animal hoses in at 50/1 gets you excited about all the information, trainers, sires, speed ratings etc. I’d recommend Formbet to anyone if you want plenty of statistical details. It’s like the Racing Post without the words the spreadsheet and no doubt has improved since I last used it.

Bet Buddy – You may have heard me mention this blog in the past well to elaborate further I’ve been following James’ selections daily since the start of the flat season. I’ve read the blog now for about 8 months and the effort James puts into the site is worthwhile reading. You may ask why I am following this blog specifically. Well there are a couple of reasons, firstly I work nights as you may have gathered and James tends to put his selections up at an ungodly hour namely about 4.00am. This works well as the nights I am working I don’t miss selections as most sane people post things in the day when I’m asleep. The second reason is his performance on the flat last year, he made a profit of +229.53pts in 2010 and although it’s dropped back over the jumps. When James concentrates on the flat he’s one of the best blogging tipsters about in my opinion. That’s not to say he’s the only one I considered as Underground Tipster continues to post excellent results as does Robert at Becher Brooks. However for now I’m sticking with Bet Buddy. You will notice along the top I’ve added the selections to a spreadsheet much like my own tips, so you can see the progress throughout the summer.

System bets below. Very quiet today with no UK flat racing.

  • COMBINED OPTIMUM
  • None

 

  • TESTING
  • 4.25 Stratford – Battlecry – N Twiston-Davies/W Twiston-Davies (TJ14) (5)

 

  • JOCKEY ONE RUNNER
  • 3.15 Stratford – N Schofield – High Jack (JORBOTH) (3)
  • 3.50 Stratford – P Carberry – Verde Goodwood (JOR7) (3)

Charlie Longsdon’s stable remains in excellent nick so if you wanted something I fancy to go well then it would be Tatispout in the 5.00

 Good luck.

2 thoughts on “Softly does it ..

  1. Hi Rich
    Thanks for tipping us off about bet buddy. I work nights so his tips will fit in nicely.

    Thanks again.
    Mark

  2. No problem Mark.

    Half the problem with working nights, is getting up during the day to follow bets. At least with James’ selections I can back them without a lack of sleep and on the flat they’ve performing really well last year and started ok this one.

    Cheers Rich.

Leave a Reply

