Lonesome Pundit

Bettting, DFS, Football, NFL – bit of randomness

Cheltenham Results

2 Comments

What. A. Race. Watch it again it’s worth it .. like two warriors fighting the young prince. Long Run a worthy winner and perhaps a winner for a few years more 6/1 with Betfred could well look massive in 364 days time, superb ride from Sam Waley-Cohen also, has a great chance of the Gold Cup/National double now. Hard to believe that Long Run won’t actually pass his actual 6th birthday until May! Denman the destroyer 2nd for the third year in a row, an equine Gladiator. Kauto equally heroic a horse who ran such a brave race. Not forgetting What A Friend who ran an absolute belter and also Midnight Chase who came 5th, I watched this horse come 3rd 30 lengths behind in a novice chase at Fakenham so to make such a rise really is amazing.

http://www.chroma.premiumtv.co.uk/streaming/watch/RacingUKFlashVOD/partnerId_166/videoFileId_10584473/clipId_1743531/index.html

Moving on going to spend the next few weeks going back over the races in more detail, one by one bar the novelty races, I think looking back over better races will give me a better idea for the future, especially in the handicaps, so keep an eye out for that review. This week was a success because I looked at trends and took on the market leaders in the main, I don’t intend to move away from that process in the future. Additionally I don’t intend to put any selections up now until Aintree as basically before this week I was rubbish at tipping and secondly there is no decent racing until then, today’s Saturday card really bar one race is dire, no surprise mind after the last four days, after Aintree I’ll be turning towards the flat season. I will be following a few services for the flat and will also reconsider signing up to Formbet again. Dave and the team have had a good week and the flat is where the ratings seem to excel. That’s all for another day. I’ve had no comments this week so have no idea if anyone’s actually followed any of the selections but I guess the main thing is I did and also managed to make my mates away from here a few quid. If you did follow them and over 100 people per day have been reading the blog the last four days so thanks for that, a comment of any kind is encouraging.

Results wise the spreadsheet below has all bets I put up at the advised prices as you can see it wasn’t a bad week. Considering some of the near each way misses it could have been an amazing week, I placed 40 selections in 26 races. The total points profit over the week was 60pts from 66pts at advised stakes. 57pts in the win market and 3pts in the each way market. 9 Selections were profitable. A Return on Investment of nearly 90% is obviously unsustainable, as you’d be happy with 10% but a quite fantastic week.

Including  were 6 winners – Captain Chris  (2pt win @ 10/1), Sizing Europe (1pt e/w @ 14/1), Junior (2pt win @6/1), Holmwood Legend (0.5pt win @ 25/1), Zarkander (1pt e/w @ 14/1) and Sire Des Champs (4pt win @ 5/1). Winners obviously make you wealthy and these 6 returned 106.5pts profit. Of the other bets I managed to also find 6 irritating seconds. It’s also worth noting just to emphasis that I wasn’t actually completely lucky all week that in addition to those 6 seconds, I managed to have 8 each way selections finish one place out the money including some big prices in Thousand Stars @ 50/1, Rock Of Deauville @ 40/1, Barwell Bridge @ 25/1 and What A Friend @ 28/1. The week really could have been even better especially as I was the wrong end of a few noses – I think it’s fair to say if I didn’t find those six winners I’d be truly pulling my hair out as it goes I’m absolutely over the moon.

System Selections –

Another nearly day for these yesterday as Son Of Flicka very nearly won @ 28/1 and there were decent place finishes from Mossley @ 12/1 and Leo’s Lucky Star @ 20/1. No luck on the all weather, today’s selections are below. Will update on the past week later tonight/Sunday AM.

  • Lingfield
  • 2.20 Lucky Meadows – R Hannon
  • 4.05 Fanditha – M Channon
  • Wolverhampton
  • 7.50 Chimpunk – M Wigham/A Atzeni
  • Uttoxeter
  • 1.55 Beau Lake – Miss S Smith
  • 2.25 Reindeer Dippin – D McCain/H Brooke
  • Newcastle
  • 3.55 Enjoy Your Life – A Crook/P Gallagher
  • 3.55 Jukebox Melody – J Jefferson/G Lee
  • 5.05 Knockaveen – – A Crook/P Gallagher

Have a great weekend.

Lonesome Pundit

2 thoughts on “Cheltenham Results

  1. A great blog and a great week. Please keep it going.
    BTW, I have another “form” based system that I will write (privately) to you about for you to consider for the summer.
    All the best.

  2. I’ll definately keep going Ian.
    Will get back to you via email, thanks very much.
    Regards.

Leave a Reply

